First 20 Cites to Established Smart Cities Mission SPVs

Smart Cities mission

Smart Cities Mission is the most ambitious project of the Central government in which, the government has targeted to develop 100 smart cities across the country. about 20 cities have been selected in the first batch of the Smart Cities Mission to set up Special Purpose Vehicles (SPVs) with municipal corporations. Full-time CEOs, CIOs and CFOs have been appointed for this.

» Read more

Government to announce the List of 100 Smart Cities on 1st September

Finally the Indian Govt. will be officially announced the list of 100 smart cities on 1st September the Union Minister of Urban Development and Housing M Venkaiah Naidu said on yesterday.

Smart Cities is the ambitious project of Prime Minister Narendra Modi for transforming India by making cities more livable and inclusive, besides driving the economic growth.

He said that only 20 cities will be selected in first phase. These cities will be selected on based some certain parameters, which have already been communicated to the 100 cities.

Naidu was speaking to reports during a conference of smart cities organized by Council of India. He has has explained the smart cities mission will be completed by a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV). The SPV will plan, appraise, approve, release funds, implement, manage, operate, monitor and evaluate the Smart City development projects. Each smart city will have a SPV which will be headed by a full time CEO.

Meghalaya isn’t listed in Indian Central Government list of 100 Smart Cities

Meghalaya isn’t listed in the Indian Central Government list of ‘100 Smart Cities’. The Central Government smart cities planned by the BJP- led NDA government come up all state leaving only Assam and Arunachal Pradesh and nil of list Meghalaya.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi launching  100 smart cities guidelines on, June 25 and Modi launch Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) and ‘Housing for all by 2022’ projects on the occasion.

Union Urban Development Minister Venkaiah Naidu meeting convened by Urban Affairs Minister Lyngdoh have been demanded the New Shillog Township and both Tura and Jowai should be developed as “100 Smart Cities” scheme as envisioned by the new government.

New Urban Renewal Mission for 500 cities named after former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, replacing one christened   after Nehru with total outlay of Rs. 98,000 crore for the next five years.

Urban Development Minister’s formula workout according to the population of a state’s the maximum number of smart cities. The formula gave 50:50 weight age to state’s population number of town has it.