Government to Announce Third List of Smart Cities Today

Register Here To Get Daily Smart Cities news and Updates In Your Email Inbox
Smart City Project List 2018

Smart Cities 3rd List – As per a government release, the central government is going to announce the names of the last set of cities to be made smart under its flagship 100 Smart City scheme today.

Details of Smart Cities 3rd List

45 cities have taken part in the 3rd round of Smart City Challenge. Out of these cities, 40 cities are expected to be selected. Central has already announced the names of 60 cities selected under this scheme.

The Central Government of India had launched this ambitious scheme named ’100 Smart City’ mission on June 25, 2015. Central announced the first list of 20 cities in January last year.

After that, the central government offered a fast-track window for 23 cities rejected in the first round to upgrade their proposals. Out of these cities, 13 cities were selected in May. In the second round, the central government has announced the names of 27 more cities selected under this scheme.

  • Central has also allocated Rs 48,000 crore for the development of these cities.

  • The cities which will be selected today will be given Rs 500 crore over a period of five years by the Centre with the respective states expected to make the matching contribution.

  • The government has so far approved smart city plans worth Rs 1.33 lakh crore for the 60 cities.

  • The ministry of urban development is also preparing a report card on its Smart City mission as the scheme is set to complete two years of its launch this June.

  • It is compiling data under various heads, like the number of projects completed and those being implemented.

The third of Smart Cities has been announced. Check the list here –

Third List of Smart Cities

Thiruvananthapuram has topped the list of new smart city list. Names of smart cities announced today are:

  • Trivandrum
  • Naya Raipur,
  • Rajkot
  • Amaravati
  • Patna
  • Karimnagar
  • Muzaffarpur
  • Puducherry
  • Gandhinagar
  • Srinagar
  • Sagar
  • Karnal
  • Satna
  • Bengaluru
  • Shimla
  • Dehradun
  • Tiruppur
  • Pimpri Chinchwad
  • Bilaspur
  • Pasighat
  • Jammu
  • Dahod
  • Tirunelveli
  • Thootukkudi
  • Tiruchirapalli
  • Jhansi
  • Aizawl
  • Allahabad
  • Aligarh
  • Gangtok

Note: The Smart Cities 3rd List will be Updated Soon. Stay Connected with us.

News Source:

Register Here To Get Daily Smart Cities news and Updates In Your Email Inbox

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.