West Bengal State Govt. selected four cities for central smart city scheme

The West Bebgal state government has selected the name of four municipality areas Salt Lake, New Town, Haldia and Durgapur to develop as smart city under 100 smart cities mission.

On 21st June 2015 the 100 smart cities mission and 500 AMRUT cities mission was launched by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi for transforming India. Last week the state urban development department had sent a proposal to the Union Ministry to include the four selected areas in its ‘Smart City’ mission. Once the proposal will be accepted the state will receive central funds to develop these places as smart cities.

Centre said only four municipalities from Bengal would be able to join the ‘Smart City’ scheme. The municipalities were asked to prepare a report describing the civic infrastructure they have now and how much infrastructural facilities they would be able to provide if they were named smart cities.

According to the sources, the state officials gave marks based on which Salt Lake, New Town, Durgapur and Haldia were selected. “The proposal for including the four municipality areas has been sent to the Centre for consideration,” said a senior government official.